PDA

View Full Version : Linn Basik LV V - lost cause?

abbot
17-01-2015, 19:56
Is it possible to get any kind of decent SQ from this arm? It was mounted on my Heybrook TT2 when delivered, with a Goldring 910IGC. No matter how I tried, I failed to enjoy it and both arm and cartridge ended up in a cupboard. I am about to restore another TT and am looking for a simple but decent arm/pu. What is your say? I have an unused Sugden SAU-2 too. Main use of this TT will be experimenting with different motors. I want to enjoy music too, though.

The Barbarian
17-01-2015, 19:58
you selling the goldring?

karma67
17-01-2015, 20:00
i had one fitted to my revolver turntable and thought it sounded good,im no expert though,i now have a basik plus which i also like.

walpurgis
17-01-2015, 20:10
If you have an SAU2, I'd suggest selling it on. They are not a good arm. The diagonal gimbal bearings cause the arm (and therefore headshell) to tilt from one side to the other as the arm traverses the record. That's a no no! It means that if you get the cartridge vertical in one position, it will not be vertical in other positions, totally cocking up the azimuth.

The LVV on the other hand is a decent enough sounding and well made arm. Ideal for use with non exotic moving coil cartridges. Especially if you fit a rigid cast headshell. It should work fine with the TT2. The Goldring cartridge is probably too compliant to suit the LVV properly. That's your problem I reckon.

Bung a Denon DL-110 in it and you'll come out a winner! :)

abbot
17-01-2015, 21:56
you selling the goldring?

Thank you for your interest. I would never sell a Goldring 9xxIGC. I never wear my wedding ring. Suppose you ain't interested in that kind of gold ring?

I have never come around to try the 910 in my Moerch UP-4 ( has been on my to-do list for ages) since the 900IGC has been performing so well. I have been reluctant to touch it. Unfortunately it now is like myself - not much left.