PDA

View Full Version : Kef 104/2

vinyljunky
05-01-2015, 19:53
Found a pair of kef 104/2 local to me could possibly get them for 300 pounds.I have limited knowledge about these speakers there sensitivity is 92 db I would have though they would be an easy load for my croft phono intergrated people seem to be raving about the sweet mid range and controlled bass any thoughts about my amp and these kefs as a combo.Any thoughts from my fellow hifi gurues would be appreciated.:scratch:

Tea24
06-01-2015, 09:00
I have had a pair since new in 1990 and run them with a Quad 66 pre through a Quad 606 power & previously with a 306. Never had any trouble driving them with those combos. They are a very musical speaker which will cope with most types of music. Personally I play mainly jazz, big band, classical & slightly dated pop (that shows my age;)). I have not tried heavy metal or today's screaming nitwits as I am not into that.

If in good condition, bearing in mind their likely age, they are a great speaker.

Julian

YNWaN
06-01-2015, 13:01
As I recall, the high sensitivity of this speaker is partly because the crossover is designed to present a 4 Ohm load to the amplifier. I don't know how happy your Croft is at driving such a load (perhaps it is fine), but many valve amps would rather see an 8 Ohm or higher load.

Macca
06-01-2015, 13:21
The Croft Integrated is a hybrid with MOSFET output stage - I reckon you would just about get away with it unless you really want to rock out in a big room. Quite a lot of info about these particular KEFs on Audiokarma if you are interested.

anthonyTD
06-01-2015, 14:19
Quite agree!