PDA

View Full Version : Moving coil via Croft 25R Pre

Jimbo
03-01-2015, 19:54
I may be considering a MC cartridge as I have recently heard the absolutely superb Dynavector Te Kaitora using my Turntable and to be honest it gave about twice the SQ abilities of my 2M Black, although it was 4 times the price!

However I would like to run a Moving coil cartridge with my Croft 25R pre which is obviously only MM compatible.

What would I need to use to get the very best out of a MC cartridge via my Croft linestage? A SUT or MC phono stage?

Sorry I am a bit ignorant in this area having never used a MC cartridge, hence the request for AOS help:)

Riislingen
03-01-2015, 20:07
You would need a SUT matched to the cart for best performance IMO.

walpurgis
03-01-2015, 20:12
You're going to get all sorts of opinions on this one James.

I've always favoured a good MM phono stage with a decent SUT. I've been using MCs that way with various amplifiers for over thirty years.

I've tried a lot of MM phono stages. In the last few years I've gone from an EAR 834P valve stage to a solid state Graham Slee ERA Gold V and am currently running a Graham Slee Reflex M.

My SUT is an unobtainable Osawa unit!

Jimbo
03-01-2015, 20:17
You're going to get all sorts of opinions on this one James.

I've always favoured a good MM phono stage with a decent SUT. I've been using MCs that way with various amplifiers for over thirty years.

I've tried a lot of MM phono stages. In the last few years I've gone from an EAR 834P valve stage to a solid state Graham Slee ERA Gold V and am currently running a Graham Slee Reflex M.

My SUT is an unobtainable Osawa unit!

Please excuse my ignorance but how does a MM phono stage differ from a SUT?

walpurgis
03-01-2015, 20:26