PDA

View Full Version : Technics turntables, headshells and cartridges

gav
24-03-2008, 20:25
Hi,

A question if I may, please bear in mind that I am new to all this and what I am about to ask may be daft.

I have recently acquired a Technics SL1700 and while I can hear that there is potential there it is along way from it being where it could be.

Thinking about improving things it is obvious that I cannot use the headshell on the SL1700 to take advantage of the vast array of cartridges that are available for the SL1200 as the fittings for the cartridge are different.

However it would appear that the fitting at the end of the tone arm between it and the headshell are identical in both the SL1200 and the SL1700. Is this correct? If it is does this mean that I could simply replace the headshell and open up a whole new world of possibilities?

Steve Toy
25-03-2008, 01:15
Hi Gav.

We might need some pics of the headshell you have or someone (Marco) may need to pay you a visit to have a look before anyone can advise further.

I do know that tonearms and headshells (and most bits) for all Technics turntables seem to cost buttons so the possibilities for you may yet prove to be as endless as the cartridge upgrades possibilities you mention. It would certainly seem that mass production coupled with excellent Japanese engineering would explain why you have hit upon a bargain that could easily be improved upon without breaking the bank or into a sweat.

Marco
25-03-2008, 09:52
Steve,

Pass my telephone number on to Gav and ask him to give me a call. I can sort this out no problem and it will be much quicker than doing it here :)

Marco.

StanleyB
25-03-2008, 18:03
One very good Technics tonearm to consider is the EPA501H. Not a mass produced arm, but a scarce high-end piece of kit that fetches £350 or more on eBay. I am close to selling one of mine as well since I can only play one...

Marco
25-03-2008, 19:04
Sensi,