PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Mirfield

nickwf14
06-10-2014, 23:11
Hi my name is Nick, and I'm from Mirfield (hence the nickWF14, in case you were wondering....).

I currently have a couple of systems:

1) for AV consisting of Audiolab 8000AP and and 8000X7 with inputs provided by a PS3 (I know, it's not strictly hifi, but it does the job of a multi-media). The lot is hooked up to Mission's FS2 AV surround sound system, which allows me to have the full 7.1.

2) a quad 99 system (tuner, cd player, pre-amp and the 800 power amp), powering a couple of Quad 22L speakers. Interestingly, the Quad website no longer lists these items, obviously having moved to 'higher' end equipment.

Scattered in various other rooms are bits of Sonos equipment, which do the job.

I've been collecting bits of hifi for nearly 30 years, gradually working my way up to the current system(s). My latest project is to explore the Linn route/philosophy. I heard a Linn system - majik/karik/numerik/LK100 powering a couple of kelidhs and the sound was fantastic. Much better than my quad system IMHO, even though the Linn was some 20 years old, so I've started collecting bits of Linn kit.

Musical tastes - pretty middle of the road really. Folk (Dylan plus a lot of the English folk scene - there's a lot of live action in West Yorkshire), folk/rock, rock (Springsteen to Pink Floyd via pretty much anything from the 1960's), country (Mary Chapin Carpenter et al). We do play a fair bit of classical and bits and pieces of opera too.

I enjoy reading about hifi and it's good to find a site with knowledgeable people who are happy to share their wisdom without the rants one can find on other sites.

Any questions, please give me a shout (although I am a technical ignoramus, so no help there!).

Best regards, Nick

walpurgis
07-10-2014, 09:16
Hello Nick. Welcome to AOS.

Sounds like you're well into your Hi-Fi. Are you planning any changes? We like to hear about what people are doing.