PDA

View Full Version : Moving to NAS but which one?

bazz
16-09-2014, 16:35
Hi,

I'm relatively new to streaming and have initially been doing so from files held on my iMac which works fine.

Now that streaming has proven it's self to be the way forward for me, I think the convenience of a NAS (iMac doesn't need to be on) is the way to go but which one?

Having read many reviews I've short listed Synology and QNAP. Does anyone have any views or experience on which is best for audio streaming. It won't be used for any other duty.

Thanks in advance.

Paul

StanleyB
16-09-2014, 17:19
The Zyxel N310 gets my vote. I have even figured out how to switch it on and off remotely so that I don't have to keep running it 24/7.

Canetoad
16-09-2014, 23:29
I use a Synology NAS and have had no problems whatsoever with it in the years I have owned and used it.

Canetoad
16-09-2014, 23:33
The Zyxel N310 gets my vote. I have even figured out how to switch it on and off remotely so that I don't have to keep running it 24/7.

My NAS is set up to switch off overnight. Simple setup using admin tools. Easy to set up.

Stratmangler
16-09-2014, 23:41
Default settings on the Zyxel cause it to spin down after 15 minutes if not accessed.
It draws 17W when under full load, and 4W in standby, so it costs very little in electrickery bills to run, even when used daily throughout the course of the day.

Mine hasn't missed a beat, and when I replaced the HDD with a larger one earlier this year it was a fairly painless process - OK, it took quite a while to back up onto external HDD and then to upload the same HDD backup onto the new disc, but once done it has behaved impeccably, as it did before.

Mine runs LMS for the Squeezeboxes around the house.

StanleyB
17-09-2014, 03:47
It's not the electricity cost that I am worried about. A NAS that is on is also an attraction for hackers.

bazz
17-09-2014, 05:20
Thanks for the responses.