PDA

View Full Version : Help! Setting up the arm on a Rega Planar 2

webby
09-09-2014, 20:10
Hi,

I've just dug out my old, original Planar 2 with original Bias cartridge I believe (the green one). I sounded fine, but of course I fiddled with it.

How do I set up the anti-skate and the tracking?

I'm a complete vinyl novice, I just dug it out to play some of my old 80's 12"s.

Thanks

webby
09-09-2014, 20:20
Hmmm, I think I have it.

I set the anti skate to zero, then set the counter balance at the point the arm was floating above the record. very difficult as it has a tendency to move back to the rest position. Anyway, from there I turned the c/b roughly 315 degrees and set the a/s to the mid point between 1 and 2.

It plays out to the centre of the record now, so I think it's ok??

struth
09-09-2014, 20:28
The planer 2 used to ship with an rb250 I think......if so, the anti skate is under the arm. usually set to same mark as the tracking force of the cart. Sure someone will correct me if this is wrong.

webby
09-09-2014, 20:59
The planer 2 used to ship with an rb250 I think......if so, the anti skate is under the arm. usually set to same mark as the tracking force of the cart. Sure someone will correct me if this is wrong.

Yes, that's right, a little green slider which goes 0........1..2, so not exactly ideal for being precise.

webby
10-09-2014, 07:37
Switching over to a 33, it didn't seem to play so well. Not sure I've got this tracking force right. Maybe the stylus is worn and tracks the groove of a 12" better than an LP?

If I was to replace the cartridge with a good budget one, what should I go for?

RichB
10-09-2014, 08:22
Rega carbon may be all you need for around £25 quid...
http://audiofi.net/2013/03/rega-carbon-cheerful-cheapie-cartridge/

hifi_dave
10-09-2014, 09:01
You might well need a touch more tracking weight. Try that before junking the cartridge.

webby
10-09-2014, 10:20