PDA

View Full Version : Nagaoka question

mikecole
05-07-2014, 11:27
I first learned about the the Nagaoka cartridges here on the AoS forum and started doing research into them. I have been using a Dyna 10x5 for about the last 10 years. I am on my third one and it is getting a bit long in the tooth I think. This led me to DaveyW's Vinyl Corner (http://daveyw.edsstuff.org/). He had needledrops for a bunch of different MM, MI and MC carts. I downloaded all of the ones that I thought I might be interested in (unfortunately no Nagaoka MP300 or MP500 though). When I first listened to them, I had liked the Denon DL S1 the most. I wanted to be be a bit unbiased when trying to find some favorites though, so I had my wife assist me with some blind listening. The surprise came when the Denon did not get chosen. My top three picks, in order, turned out to be the London Jubilee, the Denon 103R with Expert Stylus Paratrace tip and the Ortofon 2M Black. I cannot afford the first two and the Ortofon is a bit on the cool side compared to the other two. So the Nagaoka 300 or Nagaoka 500 may still be in the running according to the many descriptions I have read. Can anybody who has heard some of these carts be able to tell me if the Nagaokas lean towards the sound of the London or the Denon? The cart will be used on an Ekos 1 tonearm on an LP12 and into my new Croft Integrated and on to a pair of Harbeth P3ESRs.

snapper
05-07-2014, 12:08
Hi Mike, can't comment on your chosen Nagaoka cartridges, I've only used an MP11.

What I can say is, I use a Denon 301 MKII on an Ekos arm and LP12. To my ears it's nicely detailed without being harsh or bright. I'm enjoying so much that I've not used my Akiva in quite a while.

Will send you a PM shortly.

julesd68
05-07-2014, 13:11
Hi Mike,