PDA

View Full Version : Amplifier/Pre-amplifier phase and phase inversion. How do you check it?

walpurgis
26-05-2014, 14:31
How do you detect or check for amplifier phase and phase inversion? I don't know how you'd tell, so I'm asking. Presumably an oscilloscope comparing a reference signal would tell you, but most of us don't have that kind of gear.

Jimbo
26-05-2014, 15:11
Hi Geoff,

Sorry I can't give you a technical answer as I am not a techie but you can hear the difference. Not as obvious as speakers out of phase but it is audible.

I believe there are only a few amps on the market that invert phase so for most folk it will not be a concern.

Firebottle
26-05-2014, 15:31
Maybe you've identified a gap in the market -

The numero uno super duper hi-fi phase checker, yours Sir for only £399........

Actually it wouldn't take a lot of gubbins to make one, two LEDs to show phase same or phase inverted.

:cool: Alan

Barry
26-05-2014, 15:41
How about knocking up a circuit design for us Alan? We could put it in the DIY section.

The great majority of pre-amp/amplifier combinations are non-inverting, but there are some where the ouput of the pre-amp is deliberately inverted to compensate for the inversion of the power amp.

Paul Hynes
26-05-2014, 15:41
Hi Geoff,

This is a tricky subject, as you have no control over any signal processing used at the recording stage in many recordings. The signal of instruments and voices can pass through various processing stages to add effects and equalisation some of which can invert phase and/or add time delays. Ideally a positive pressure change on the microphone diaphragm will produce a positive electrical voltage and a negative pressure change would produce a negative electrical voltage and any additional signal processing after this would maintain this phase relationship.