PDA

View Full Version : My first Sub woofer!

kininigin
19-03-2014, 17:10
I have managed to bag myself the matching sub for my speakers :D (only had to wait 4 or so years!!) It's the Paradigm Servo 15,which apparently is a very good sub! I've never used one before and was wondering if there is anything i need to know setting up wise?

StanleyB
19-03-2014, 18:15
Check if it can keep pace with the bass produced by the Bushmaster. If it can, then make sure you have neighbours who are very understanding. I had some test tracks from Snapper and a couple of Drum&Bass that had the windows rattling like mad.

kininigin
19-03-2014, 20:59
Check if it can keep pace with the bass produced by the Bushmaster. If it can, then make sure you have neighbours who are very understanding. I had some test tracks from Snapper and a couple of Drum&Bass that had the windows rattling like mad.

Well 1 set of neighbours have moved out,so only 1 neighbour to deal with and i've had no complaints in the few years i have lived here! That may soon change though :eyebrows: I have plenty of dub and drum and bass to put it through it's paces!!

kininigin
27-03-2014, 18:59
Well after faffing about with the delivery company for about a week! :rolleyes: I have finally got the Subwoofer :D It's a big bugger,so i will be very limited to where it can go! For now it's under the suspended stairs where there is dead space and brings it 3/4 of the way into the room.

Right,so as i said in my original post,i have never had one before and a little advice on how to connect up wouldn't go amiss.

I have an external active crossover (Paradigm X-30) for it as well.So do i take the interconnects from my speakers to the X-30 high pass output? Of which there are 3 sets that include 50Hz,80Hz and 120Hz and then from the X-30 to a line -in on my pre-amp? Then a interconnect from the subwoofer out on the X-30 to the Sub it's self?

Any advice would be most welcome :)

Macca
28-03-2014, 08:48