PDA

View Full Version : Audirvana Plus

selby
16-03-2014, 14:10
Bloody hell is all I can say!

Just compared Yo-Yo Ma Plays Ennio Morricone first via Qobuz (streaming FLAC) then a AIFF (ripped using X Lossless Decoder) played in standard iTunes and then tried it in Audirvana it's like I've got a new album/hifi.

I've switched back and fourth and via Audirvana you can pick out so much more depth. Little notes and details I've not heard before, you can hear the grain if the strings on the cello...it's amazing.

Only bad news, I'm using the free trial so now I'm going to have to find the money to buy the software.

Anyone else had such night and day results?

Any tips for using it to its best?

roob
16-03-2014, 15:59
I used it(trial version) and it is good but not night and day experience, I already have Pure Music and JR19 for mac so did not buy the full package.

allsorts
18-03-2014, 22:57
I've been using Audirvana for a couple of years in different iterations. Eventually bought the retail version when it came along. For me, going from (itunes directly to a dac) to adding this software in, was a night and day improvement. It enhanced my listening experience tremendously. I now employ it in integer and hog mode, 24/96, which gives me all the benefits of Audirvana Plus but allows me to retain the itunes screen which I'm comfortable with. Maxing out the ram on my computer also helped.
System: Macbook 7,1, iTunes 10.7, AIFF, MF V-LINK II (USB to CoAx), CoAx to Beresford Bushmaster2 (battery powered).
BTW I found Damien, the creator of Audirvana to be a great help with getting started and assisting with some newbie problems I had initially. Buy the program when you can - he deserves a reward for his efforts.

mwheelerk
19-03-2014, 10:17