PDA

View Full Version : Get an external DAC and CD Player or just run the OPPO 103 Bluray player?

alexm84
09-03-2014, 16:32
Hi,

I was thinking about getting the OPPO BDP-103 blu ray player for my home system as it has a lot of good reviews.

Can anyone comment if this will be good for playing CD's or should i:
a) Run an external DAC (like the beresford) with this player or,
b) get a CD player and an external DAC to run with it?

I just have a PS3 at the moment, but have heard they are horrible for playing CD's (even with a DAC added) so will get something else.

Any ideas would be great as i am new to DAC's

agk
09-03-2014, 18:55
My recollection of the ps3 was that it did a pretty good job with cd (certainly as good as any blu-ray player) but its years since I had mine.
At least one dude on here uses one fairly regularly and I'd be surprised if he doesnt pop in and give his tuppence worth.
Seeing as you have the ps3 there why not give it a spin and see how you get on? They can make a fairly handy media hub as I recall.

John
09-03-2014, 19:22
The internal DAC on the Oppo can be bettered, the Bushmaster will easily beat it. It will play CDs (as a Transport) okay but the way to get the best sounds on it is to use files on either a stick on SSD hard drive rather than use it as a straight forwarded CD transport IMO (from personal experience with the player)

roob
09-03-2014, 19:52
The Oppo 105 is the one to have unfortunately it is twice the price
I recommend you have a look at the player only version Chevron Audio Sabre Universal player it is a great sounding player trust me;)
http://www.chevronaudio.co.uk/html/sabre_player_dac.html

agk
09-03-2014, 20:16
I hate to repeat myself but while everybody spends your money for you do have a listen to the ps3.

alexm84
09-03-2014, 21:11
I'll give the PS3 a go. Just waiting for my pre amp to arrive this week.

Like you say, i have the PS3 so may as well try it first.