PDA

View Full Version : Nakamichi 581 playback alignment screws - advice please

neonknight
20-06-2009, 19:24
I have noticed a channel difference on my 581. The left hand channel seems to consistently play back at a lower volume than the right hand channel. It's not my tapes because they are fine on another cassette deck I have and I have proven the issue by looking at the WAV form when I copy music to my PC. It doesn't appear to be a problem with the connectors on the back of the unit or my various cables either because I can observe the lower levels by watching the VUs.

I have no knowledge whatsoever of adjusting head height and azimuth alignment screws. The prospect of getting it wrong is worrying me but I can't afford a £200 repair bill so feel like giving it a go but don't know whether I am barking up the wrong tree.

Can anybody offer any advice please? :)

Neon

DSJR
20-06-2009, 19:49
PLEASE DON'T TOUCH!!!!! I did and fortunately lived to tell the tale after a stiff telling off by the UK NAK service dept.

Nakamichi used to make an excellent service test set. using this with the proper test tapes, one could set up a machine like yours in around five minutes, starting with the guide adjustment tools, then levels, fine-tuning the heads for physical alignment, final play and record levels and azimuth. It's easy for an experienced and trained techie to do, but not for twiddlers like me.

You could try recording a test tone on another known machine and then play it back on yours. The playback level preset is inside and labelled I think, but £200 on an expert service isn't a bad cost as long as a very thorough service is done - your machine is 30 years old now and who knows may have been at it in the past...

neonknight
20-06-2009, 19:55
Thank you - I'm now so glad I asked! You have made my evening.;)

Neon

DSJR
20-06-2009, 20:05