PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on upgrading from a novice

Thick_Mike
02-02-2014, 21:26
I've been lurking here for a few weeks. I thought as a newbie I'd share a few thoughts on my recent upgrades.

My old system was:

Analogue - rega Planar 2 with ATE93 on an RB100 arm into a Yamaha S500 amp driving KEF 104/2 speakers

Digital - Acer Revo mini PC running iTunes through a behringer UA202 DAC into the same amp and speakers. Plus a Yamaha CDN 500 CD player

Upgrade 1: repairing the doughnuts on the woofers of the KEFs and replacing the old T33 tweeters with Morel MDT 29s. This really tightened the bass from the KEFs and enhanced the top end. I'm not sure if the T33s were a bit tired or not...there was no sign of distress when I took them out...or whether the Morels are just a little brighter. I liked the change either way.

Upgrade 2: swapped to a rega planar 3 with a linn K5 cartridge. Didn't notice any improvement...in fact a little more rumble was apparent compared to the P2/ATE93

Upgrade 3: Ortofon 2m Blue. Wow! A huge improvement. This put a big grin on my face. Lovely separation of instruments.

Upgrade 4: Creek destiny 2 amp with integrated phono stage. Serious stuff now! The bass is so much more defined, the sibilance removed. No listening fatigue...huge sound feels very controlled.

Upgrade 5: Mac mini. iTunes runs without the glitches that were so annoying on the underpowered Acer. Started using Spotify premium too and enjoying an (almost) in finite CD collection.

Upgrade 6: Teac UD 501 DAC. Really brought the digital music forward. The old system really suffered in comparison to the analogue source. Now it's only a little behind.

Conclusions...

Big grin!

I'm really lucky to have had some money to spend on upgrades. I realise that my system has cost a quite a few £s albeit I bought most of the upgrades second hand, but it's a luxury that many don't have. At the same time I realise that this is just dipping my toe into the money pit that is hifi.