PDA

View Full Version : Wow ! That's a big one......

Spectral Morn
05-06-2009, 15:07
Hi Guys

Slightly shorter write up than usual (there is only so much you can write about this topic), but as the description of SOG includes more or less what has happened I thought this item should go hear.

As many no doubt are aware, I recently did a write up on the Leak Trough-Line FM tuner ( see Link 1 & 2 below) and one of the key aspects of any tuners performance is the aerial its connected to. Well I have been using an Antiference Omni aerial for many years both where I live now and when I lived with my parents. It works well with modern tuners such as my Revox 260-S (which has excellent sensitivity and selectivity) but it is not as good with vintage tuners such as the Leaks I use. In order to improve things a bit I added an FM amplifier to the aerial and while this works well it did on occasion mean I had to go upstairs to switch it on and switch it off (going upstairs while not hard for Dalek's , is a bit of a drain on the power reserves ;):lol:).

The partially assembled FM aerial
http://i549.photobucket.com/albums/ii364/davros124/Aquapiranhavisit014.jpg

http://i549.photobucket.com/albums/ii364/davros124/Aquapiranhavisit015.jpg

Steve (Aquapiranha) came to my rescue with an unwanted Yagi based Antiference aerial a 5 element design with good pick up ability and well up to feeding a vintage Leak quality signals to reproduce. As you will also have read Steve (Aquapiranha) came to visit recently (see Link 3) and just before he came over he posted the aerial which arrived on the day he called in for a listening session.

With the weather being slightly cooler today I decided to fit it in my cramped loft (installing any aerial in a roof-space is not ideal as you will loose some of the aerial's signal strength). Having no real choice about this into the loft it went.

The existing Omni FM aerial and Anti-ghosting TV aerial in the roof-space.