PDA

View Full Version : The right Transport for the Bushmaster II ?

loonytunes
27-11-2013, 14:35
Does Stan (or perhaps anyone else for that matter) have any recommendations in terms of a good quality transport for the BM2?

I see on various threads that the BM2 is of a very high standard so thought a bit of care and attention should be applied to a relevant transport in order to make the most of it's abilities seeing as, usually anyway, any good quality revealing DAC is likely to show shortcomings upstream.

I have some ideas - but experience counts.

Clive
27-11-2013, 14:40
Just a thought, I don't know how good it really is but it's supposed to be pretty decent. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Hifi-end-Little-Dot-CDP-II-CD-Digital-Transport-Player-/111054043468

Wakefield Turntables
27-11-2013, 14:41
I would think that the TEAC VRDS units might be off some use to you? It's something I've been looking into.

loonytunes
27-11-2013, 14:44
Good ideas, in that case then are you saying that the BM2 will benefit in a noticeable way with a decent transport - some DACs are fairly immune - but every little bit may help with a DAC of this calibre?

Yomanze
27-11-2013, 14:53
Get a Pioneer DV-717 or DV-737. Amazing transport & can find them for under £50. Good enough for Ninanina to get rid of her Meridian transport, good enough for Jerry (JANDL100) to use as his CD transport of choice, and have seen Stupinder (HiFi Pig) using one, probably recommended by Jerry... even good async USB to SPDIF transports such as the Musical Fidelity V-Link 192 were no match for the Pioneer.

What's so good about it? It doesn't impart a digital signature into the sound, is incredibly natural, clear and refined. Very low jitter outputs too.

Theta used to use similar machines as a base for their Carmen & David machines costing several thousands.

Yomanze
27-11-2013, 14:57