PDA

View Full Version : Tonearm recommendations please

vouk
27-11-2013, 06:58
Good morning Gents!

I recently replaced my Transfiguration Axia with a Bluelectric Virus cartridge - this is a heavy(ish) one, at 14 gr, with a relatively low compliance (6x10^-6 cm/dyne), that tracks at 2.5 gr. While I intend to use it with my current Rega 300 for the time being, I would potentially be looking at replacing it with a medium/high mass (14/15 gr and over) tonearm as per manufacturer's recommendation. My t/t has an older Rega threaded base - so I would be looking for a drop in replacement of the same geometry. I assume that anything from Origin Live, Audionote, Audiomods should fit the bill but, as I have no experience with any of the above, any advice/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Budget is tightish (around 400-500 quid) and would thus prefer to buy used. Goes without saying that, if anyone has something to sell/offer, I'm certainly listening.
Cheers!

PaulStewart
27-11-2013, 12:19
The Origin Live Silver is around 675 new, so a second hand one may just about be in your budget. In my opinion it is the best Rega geometry arm I have heard, it blows the RB1000 out of the water. Best thing is to audition as many as possible

Best of luck

Clive197
27-11-2013, 14:39
The Origin Live Silver is around 675 new, so a second hand one may just about be in your budget. In my opinion it is the best Rega geometry arm I have heard, it blows the RB1000 out of the water. Best thing is to audition as many as possible

Best of luck

Thank you, thank you, my purchase has been vindicated.:D

vouk
27-11-2013, 15:37

Best of luck

Cheers Paul; The Silver is def on my short (or wish) list -though they rarely turn up for sale. Is the current version that much better than the previous guises (MK1-Mk2)? Those seem to pop up occasionally in the used market.
Any thoughts on the less expensive Onyx?
Auditioning different tonearms here will be a problem...

twotone
27-11-2013, 23:26