PDA

View Full Version : My Formula 4's on Ebay!

shane
19-08-2013, 08:56
If anyone's looking for a decent Formula 4, I've just posted mine on Ebay: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/161088007938?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649

Rare Bird
19-08-2013, 08:58
Nice Shane, looks like a Mk.III!

walpurgis
19-08-2013, 09:10
You'll like the 774. I've been using one for over twenty years, it replaced an Ittok and was far better! It's also superior to all the various standard and upgraded Rega arms I've used.

Rare Bird
19-08-2013, 09:12
Hi Geoff
Aye the original '774' is in my top three pick-Up arm favs :thumbsup:

shane
19-08-2013, 09:45
I started looking for a 774 seriously about a year ago, since when prices have nearly doubled on Ebay :stalks: . Managed to get one a couple of weeks ago for next to nothing, but the horizontal bearings are shot. Johnny at Audio Origami has quoted me a brilliant price to sort them out, so I should end up with a better-than-new arm for about the same as I'm expecting (is there a fingers-crossed emoticon?) to get for the Mayware.

If I was clever enough to design a pickup arm, I'd probably end up with something like the 774. Everything about it just looks right to me. I particularly like the way the arm-wand mount works. Dead simple, easy to change wands, but at the same time perfectly terminated to sink resonances and vibration. Brilliant!

walpurgis
19-08-2013, 10:07
One thing you definitely have to watch is not to overtighten the clamping screw that holds the arm tube. The thread in the clamp can strip. This is sortable, but a pain if it happens. As you know some have iffy bearings, but those are the only snags, otherwise a brilliant product that can be tweaked no end. I have three without any problems.

wiicrackpot
19-08-2013, 10:21
Someone on my local Gumtree sold a systendek II (nextel finish), Mission 774 (great nick and not LC version), and Goldrinng Elan for £90.00,