PDA

View Full Version : OCD

Thing Fish
18-08-2013, 22:52
I'm not diagnosed OCD but I display many of the symptoms of said order.

I do wonder if this influences my music/listening buying? Truth is I know it does...!!!

I do ideally like clean pitch perfect vocals which greatly influence what music I listen to or buy. I can listen to most music it's just that it can irritate me somewhat.

That's why I find it difficult to listen to nasally or off pitch vocals as so many have these days. Believe you me more have them than you realise...!!!

Vocalist that irritate me amongst others are - Prince, Bob Dylan and Van Morrison. The purest (IMHO) are Jonie Mitchell and Laure Marling to name a few. there are many others but those are the ones that spring to mind.

I tend to like pure melodic scales but strangely I can handle jazz (recently) as it's so abstract as to not worry me.

I actually put this down to why I own less than 600 records when I have been collecting for 37 years.

Just thought i'd throw this out there for discussion...

Audio Al
19-08-2013, 04:51
I find it difficult to listen to nasally

Can you add Kylie Minogue to the list :)

Gordon Steadman
19-08-2013, 06:01
Lots of nasal stuff about but off pitch surely means they shouldn't be there in the first place. Love Joni but then I love Dylan. Both have a way with words which, in my case, is as important as the tunes.

My only OCD trait is chronic untidiness. I just can't feel comfortable until I have built a nice pile of stuff around my environment. I like to know which pile everything is in though.:mental:

lurcher
19-08-2013, 07:07
I tend to like pure melodic scales but strangely I can handle jazz (recently) as it's so abstract as to not worry me.

How do you feel about blues? I ask because while Jazz may be more tonally complex, it normally is very on pitch, "bent" notes are unusual in most jazz, blues on the other hand use far less official notes and is closer to a microtonal scale.

Rare Bird