PDA

View Full Version : Jelco SA-750 Tonearm sound issues.

mido
08-08-2013, 10:17
Hi guys,

I wonder if anyone can help me?!

I have just upgraded from a Jelco SA-250 to a 750D for my slate plinthed Lenco. I am using the same cartridge, an ancient Mayware MC-7V, and all other sundries from phono stage to cables are the same.

I won't say that I was expecting amazing things from this upgrade, but what I was expecting was, maybe, more of the same as I had been accustomed to with the 250 arm, but with perhaps a little more detail and refinement.

What I am getting, however, is a rather more hollow sound with reduced bass depth and impact, almost as if the sound is somewhat 'out of phase' or cart is mis-aligned. I have checked and double checked alignment, vta etc etc and am sitting here scratching my head as to why the sound I am getting is falling short of an improvement over my SA-250 arm.

Is the cartridge a mis-match or something? I am not very technical minded and I will admit that a lot of talk about 'compliance' and 'low mass/high mass' is all a bit beyond me so it would be much appreciated if anyone who cares to respond does so in a way that is very very simple (like me).

Any ideas guys?

Oh, also as I am aware that many of you will be unfamiliar with my cartridge, so I have attached some details from the Mayware flyer.

Thanks in advance,

Frank

kor952
08-08-2013, 10:22
Hi Frank,

My first impression (after reading the specs of your cart) is that your cart's mass is a bit low for a 750D arm.

Ronald.

Clive197
08-08-2013, 11:04
According to specs. of both arm and cartridge there should no issues.

How old is the cartridge? Your description suggests stylus is worn and the new arm is highlighting the problem.

DSJR
08-08-2013, 11:52