PDA

View Full Version : Dual 721 <> Dual 1228?

Philipss
26-06-2013, 10:05
Hi All,
I am new to this forum and I am very new to Analogue Sound. I am in the hunt of finding a good TT which fits my budget. At present I have offer for Dual 721 and Dual 1228.

Dual 721 is in OK condition with weak stylus.

Dual 1228 is in much better condition but I didnt see. I heard from my Friend.

Both are in working condition. Dual 721 is cheaper and 1228 is little higher. I am very new to TT. I dont know much about TT. I searched and found both had very good user satisfaction. Please advice which I can go for.

Thanks
Badri

DSJR
26-06-2013, 11:05
The 721 is direct driven isn't it and the 1228 idler? if I'm right (I can't check at the mo), I'd recommend the 721 with a 1.5g tracking cartridge such as an Ortofon OM, VM 500 series and probably the 2M red or Blue as well, together with the AT120E and 440MLa since running torque isn't the highest (you don't get pitch instability though with these...). The idler Duals are extremely quiet and the arms on all are good enough for almost anything tracking between 1 and 2 grammes. Despite moderately high mass, the arms are utterly stable with high compliance pickups and I've used all sorts in my similar Dual 701, from ADC XLM and 26 (sibilant tracing not ideal), to the later ADC XLM III/ZLM and Phase IV (wonderful :)) to an Ortofon MC30 Super (works incredibly well with well balanced sound here) and a Koetsu Black, which was awesome in the 701. Cartridges inclined to microphony (Goldring Eroika, classic B&O SP12 etc etc) should NOT be used as the arm is too lively with the wrong cartridge fitted.

The 1228 may be more serviceable as parts are shared with many models, the 721 being a smaller selling model as I remember. Check on VE site for service details including the infamous 'steurpimpel' which often needs attending to :eyebrows:

Kvaal
26-06-2013, 11:26