PDA

View Full Version : Sound bar?

icehockeyboy
08-05-2013, 11:27
Pondering on one to replace my Monitor Audio Radius speakers (3) at the front end of the set up. They are a pair of 45's and one 180

Any suggestions as to what to get, or whether to do it at all? :scratch:

icehockeyboy
10-05-2013, 11:46
Hello............anyone here.........? :scratch:

Alex_UK
10-05-2013, 12:02
This is a hifi forum, Craig. ;)

DSJR
10-05-2013, 12:14
Yamaha are reputed to make some good soundbar style products, but I have no experience of them and am unlikely to in all honesty.

if you want a quality change and the processor allows this, why not look for some good cheap actives for front and centre duties. Should be a clearer and better controlled sound if you choose right...

Good luck :)

NRG
10-05-2013, 12:16
Sonos now do one but it's £600! Panasonic, LG, Sony, Yamaha all do them at various price points...

Alex_UK
10-05-2013, 12:17
I was being flippant, so sorry for my sarcasm! I haven't listened to any for a good few years, but I did have a play when I was bored one day in a local TV shop and the Yamaha one was OK, but will have been long replaced now. Is it because you want to remove proper speakers from the room, Craig? I doubt very much moving to a soundbar would be an upgrade from what you've got other than for aesthetic reasons.

icehockeyboy
17-05-2013, 11:06
This is a hifi forum, Craig. ;)

So why is there an AV section, and an AV section dedicated to AV speakers and subwoofers?

I rest my case.:ner:

icehockeyboy
17-05-2013, 11:07
I was being flippant, so sorry for my sarcasm! I haven't listened to any for a good few years, but I did have a play when I was bored one day in a local TV shop and the Yamaha one was OK, but will have been long replaced now. Is it because you want to remove proper speakers from the room, Craig? I doubt very much moving to a soundbar would be an upgrade from what you've got other than for aesthetic reasons.