PDA

View Full Version : Bodging pins on a SMD to DIL converter board



leo
09-04-2009, 15:02
Just an idea really for those with converter boards with too long legs that can't wait for an alternative ready made option:) this way is a bit fiddly though

First I desoldered those long pins with the black plastic collars on.
New legs to be fitted are cut off capacitor legs

http://pic20.picturetrail.com/VOL1293/4634025/12749957/360910319.jpg

The cut legs are then inserted as far as they will go into an 8pin DIL socket, a piece of vero board is used to keep things steady

http://pic20.picturetrail.com/VOL1293/4634025/12749957/360910327.jpg

The SMD to DIL converter board sat ontop with legs through the holes ready to be soldered, after soldering the excess legs at the top was trimmed

http://pic20.picturetrail.com/VOL1293/4634025/12749957/360910324.jpg

Finished! gently pulled out the converter board with new legs, these can be trimmed to suit

http://pic20.picturetrail.com/VOL1293/4634025/12749957/360910332.jpg

leo
12-05-2009, 21:27
A couple of SMD op-amps arrived today I wanted to try , problem was I ran out of converter boards:scratch:
Being impatient I thought I'd have a bash at making some in true bodge it style on DIL sockets , talk about bloody fiddly :lolsign:

http://i273.photobucket.com/albums/jj220/kingbusoms/010-2.jpg

alb
12-05-2009, 22:29
Leo.

I've got a spare Browndog adaptor if you want it.
Finding it will be an achievement, but i'll probably never use it.

pulsestudio
13-05-2009, 09:03
I have done the same DIY to a Harwin 8 pin DIL socket Leo, and yes I can qualify just how fiddly it is:
http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa59/pulsestudio/AAA5%20ADC%20board/Outputop-amps.jpg

Leo where did you get those adaptor boards from, I tried to get some Brown Dogs but no joy here in the UK, do you know of a supplier?
Paul

James G
13-05-2009, 11:26
Sorry for the OT, but what kind of solder do you guys use? Looks so clean and smooth flowing. :scratch:
What gauge would you use for this type work?

pulsestudio
13-05-2009, 15:00
I always use Multicore Lead/Tin 60/40 and the gague for this type of work is 0.46mm, available from Farnell part number: 419-308, but it aint cheap at 35 a pop 250G reel, see it here:

http://uk.farnell.com/multicore-solder/d626-250g-reel/solder-wire-60-40-0-46mm-250g/dp/419308?_requestid=482315

for most general work I use 0.7mm of the same type, do not use the Lead Free RoHS complient stuff, the joints will be dull as dishwater.

Paul

leo
13-05-2009, 19:46
Leo.

I've got a spare Browndog adaptor if you want it.
Finding it will be an achievement, but i'll probably never use it.

Thanks for the offer Al, if you ever come across them and sure you won't be using them that would be nice, no rush at all though as I won't be ordering anymore SMD op-amps just yet:)

Leo

leo
13-05-2009, 19:50
I have done the same DIY to a Harwin 8 pin DIL socket Leo, and yes I can qualify just how fiddly it is:
http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa59/pulsestudio/AAA5%20ADC%20board/Outputop-amps.jpg

Leo where did you get those adaptor boards from, I tried to get some Brown Dogs but no joy here in the UK, do you know of a supplier?
Paul

Hi Paul,

The ones I normally use came from here http://cimarrontechnology.com/ I got a few of the things a while ago, problem is they never seem to last long, I gave most away to friends with the same problem trying to find them locally, now I needed a couple they was all gone:doh:

Is that a A5 I see in the pic:smoking: that cdp brings back lots of memories

Leo

alb
13-05-2009, 20:18
Paul.

I got Browndogs from Epay.
Opamps included though.

http://electronics.shop.ebay.co.uk/?_from=R40&_trksid=p3907.m38.l1313&_nkw=brown+dog&_sacat=293

I think this is a different seller, so there may be more.

Just seen Leos link to Audio Upgrades, so looks like they're easy to get hold of now.

aquapiranha
13-05-2009, 20:55
Some nifty handy-work going on there, very ingenious!

i have just received a nice roll of 3% Ag from RS...a bit wider than is popular it seems!

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/searchBrowseAction.html?method=getProduct&R=0503635

leo
13-05-2009, 21:28
I can use ROHS or leaded, for my own stuff I use leaded in most apps but at work I have to always use ROHS

pulsestudio
14-05-2009, 10:28
Hi Paul,
The ones I normally use came from here http://cimarrontechnology.com/ I got a few of the things a while ago, problem is they never seem to last long, I gave most away to friends with the same problem trying to find them locally, now I needed a couple they was all gone:doh:
Is that a A5 I see in the pic:smoking: that cdp brings back lots of memories Leo

Thanks for the heads up Leo and Alb, they are quite resonably priced for an 8 pin SMD.

Yes indeed it is an A5 ADC board, I have modified it extensively, new LM317/337 regs, total re-cap, Tentlabs clock and seperate supply, disabled the oversampling, changed the output op-amps, removed muting trannies and used Polycarbonate caps for the AC coupled outputs, although Wima MKS2-XL's are shown in the pic they are now gone. I have just brought another one but this is the A5+, so the same work to do all over again, I think they are hard to beat in terms of neutrality and the superb mid open character with the mods in place.
thanks again guys.
paul