PDA

View Full Version : Cartridge advice please

ThELiZ
27-02-2013, 10:10
Hi guys,

I currently have a Technics SL1210 Mk2, Jelco 750D, Timestep PSU, Isonoe feet and Funk Firm Achromat. I really like the TT, more so the the RP6 I used to own.

But, I haven't found a cartridge that I am overly happy with yet. I used a DL110 a long time ago, and remember liking it for its tone and weight to the music, but not really digging up enough detail to satisfy long term.

I have been using an Ortofon 2M Black for a few months, but have just moved that on because it wasn't warm enough, sounding a bit analytic for my tests. The detail retrieval was excellent, but the overall tone wasn't for me. Maybe a mismatch with the arm? Who knows.

The sound I am after is a wide soundstage, warmth, rich textures, detail (but not bright) and good punch. I do like to also have good bass depth and weight. Hmm, sounds like I am after the perfect cartridge! I definitely don't want a boring sound, and overly warm, just the right amount

I am running Totem Arro speakers, Naim Nait XS amplifier and Pure Sound P10 phono stage.

So, here are the options I would like your advice on

1. Nagaoka MP500 (I can get this for £400 in the States when I visit next week)

2. Denon DL103R (+ swap the P10 for suitable phono stage, probably Arkless modified CA 640p. It really is very good)

3. Benz Micro Ace SH (a bit too expensive at £575, but have heard good things)

4. Audio Technica AT33EV (can purchase this for £330 from the States. Also would need the Arkless modified 640p)

So... Those are the options. Which do you think?

DSJR
27-02-2013, 13:26
The Nait XS isn't the last word in refinement especially in the treble and I wonder if the P10 is correctly matched to it im-pedance wise???????