PDA

View Full Version : New audiophile from Australia

sabrehagen
26-02-2013, 14:29
Hi guys and gals!

I'm glad to become part of this community. As a student, I find it very valuable to have people with much bigger budgets and many more years of experience than me who own lots of high end products and are able to compare and review them resulting in my education. It gives somebody like myself who has never really owned a high quality piece of equipment the fast track to some informative empirical and statistical answers :)

I have just purchased my first piece of true audiophile equipment; a Beresford TC-7530 Bushmaster DAC. This, combined with my Bose AE1 headphones should produce a listening experience I have never experienced before. I will be using TOSLINK cables between my PC and my new DAC. It has yet to arrive yet; this is why the tense of this paragraph is in the future! I am concerned however that TOSLINK is not the best possible option. I have purchased a very high end TOSLINK cable, and Stanley Beresford, the creator of the DAC, has recommended this as the best method of achieving the highest sound quality. I believe this is because optical is not prone to RF interference. I worry that my computer may not have quality termination lenses as superior as that of the DAC. I will hopefully be able to work this all out in testing.

I love Steely Dan and Donald Fagen for their exceptional recording techniques and musical genius. The Derek Trucks Band for, well, Derek (the rest of the band is pretty damn alright too!). Dire Straits for Knopfler's tone and melodies and also superb approach to recording.

Well, that's a bit about me, and I look forward to being part of the community!

synsei
26-02-2013, 14:42