PDA

View Full Version : Microfibre cloths and washing up liquid are the business!

shahsy
12-03-2009, 23:10
I have often thought of buying a record cleaning machine but what has always put me off is time and space and the thought of spending 4 or 5 hundred quid on a rotating vacuum cleaner with a small hose!:doh:

I've been buying vinyl now for going on 25 years and in the past I have on occasion cleaned records with some meths and a velvet record cleaning brush.

Anyway, to get to the point!

Many record dealers I have known over the years have always prescribed lukewarm tap water, Fairy washing up liquid and a lint-free cloth.

I recently bought a few different microfibre cloths and some allergy-free washing up liquid (non-perfumed etc) and have been cleaning some old 7" singles. with astounding results (to me anyway!)

The way I have been doing this is -

1 - Have a quick listen to both sides of the record.
2 - Choose 10 records to clean.
3 - Clear all dishes from dish rack.
4 - Run the taps so that water is lukewarm.
5 - Add non-allergy washing up liquid to a new dish washing sponge and apply to both sides of the record.
6 - Using a small square of microfibre cloth, make a pad and run it clockwise around the record 4 or 5 times.
7 - Repeat on side b of the record.
8 - Place in dish rack.
9 - Repeat for 9 more records.
10 - Grab record 1 and rinse small square of microfibre cloth and run it around the record 4/5 times on both sides, rinsing the cloth between sides.
11 - Rinse the record on both sides under the running lukewarm tap and shake off excess water.
12 - Ball up microfibre cloth No.1 and wipe in a clockwise direct on each side to remove the majority of the water.
13 -Ball up microfibre cloth No.2 and repeat to remove any remaining moisture.
14 - Place back in dish rack.
15 - Repeat for remaing 9 records. This all takes about 15 minutes.
16 - Take all the records to the record deck.