PDA

View Full Version : Used LP's, mistracking and groove damage?

Spur07
27-12-2012, 15:44
It's all in the title really. Most of you have more experience of vinyl collecting then me, just wondering how many of your 'used' LP's are groove damaged (or suspected to be worn)? Is this more common than people think, or can distortion in the upper frequencies be accredited to mistracking or poor pressing more often than not?

and I just wanted to say I wont be tolerating any cheap shots at my new avatar based on the lewd misquoting of my words, such as 'poor pressing', or even comparing the crack between a woman's breasts to the inner walls of a record groove :)

Rare Bird
27-12-2012, 15:46
I don't worry as it's one of the reasons i refuse to buy 2nd hand records unless i really realy have to..

The Grand Wazoo
27-12-2012, 15:49
And I'm almost the exact opposite to Andre!
I've been buying 2nd hand lp's for over 30 years and, armed with a RCM, I've made a tiny percentage of purchases that I've been badly unhappy with.

Rare Bird
27-12-2012, 15:50
The difference is i have a serious case of OCD, one single mark or crease sends me nutz :eyebrows:

Spur07
27-12-2012, 16:06
And I'm almost the exact opposite to Andre!
I've been buying 2nd hand lp's for over 30 years and, armed with a RCM, I've made a tiny percentage of purchases that I've been badly unhappy with.

that sounds like a good result chris, i guess dirt in the groove that causes mistracking can be mistaken for groove damage. i use the disco knosti cleaning system (2 baths) but in general I must have been a bit unlucky with some of my 'used' purchases - siblance in the upper frequencies - unless my carts aren't tracking that well :scratch:

Spur07
27-12-2012, 16:08
The difference is i have a serious case of OCD, one single mark or crease sends me nutz :eyebrows:

yeah andre, I can see your point. nearly all my 'new' purchases play fine, except some of the shitty 're-issues'

Rare Bird
27-12-2012, 16:13