PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Canada

Dardemm
14-12-2012, 15:31
Hello to the members of theartofsound.net.

My name is David McCallum. I am a sound editor, Hi-Fi enthusiast and part time Hi-Fi writer living in Toronto, Canada.

My system is a combination 7.1 home theatre and stereo Hi-Fi set up.

I use ATC SCM 40 loudspeakers with two amplifiers (Bryston 4Bsst2 and an Allnic T2000 integrated amplifier). The home theatre center speaker is also ATC, and the surrounds are a combination of Energy and Axiom (two Canadian speaker manufacturers).

One the analogue side I'm currently using an Aesthetix preamp and Tom Evans Groove +SRX phono amp. The turntable is a restored Garrard 401 on a custom plinth from Russ Collinson at Layers of Beauty in the U.K. The tonearm is an SME312s and the cartridges are a Shelter 501mkII, Dynavector DVxx2 and a Koetsu Urushi with Signature Platinum upgrade.

Other sources include a Bryston BDP2 and BDA2 combination, along with a Sony PS3 and fibre television.

I've been a Hi-Fi enthusiast for about 25 years, and have been writing on Hi-Fi for the Canadian magazine (now webzine) called The Inner Ear Magazine for 20 of those years.

I'm looking forward to what I will discover in this forum.

Regards,

David

The Grand Wazoo
15-12-2012, 00:50
Hi David,
I'd like to extend a very warm AoS welcome to you.
That's an interesting system you own - lots of UK gear there for someone who lives in Canada!
I own and love 2 pieces of Canadian hi-fi myself - Bent Audio Mu's and Mirage M3si's, both of which, I cherish.
So what music are you currently listening to?

Alex_UK
15-12-2012, 20:36
Hi David, welcome from me too. Lovely city you live in - and some great gear! Would love to see some photos in the Gallery sometime, maybe? Hope you enjoy the forum. :)

Barry
15-12-2012, 20:38
Welcome to AoS David.

Nice to have an audio writer join us. What is the address of your webzine?