PDA

View Full Version : Calling all Hotmail experts



hifi_dave
09-12-2012, 12:00
I use Hotmail for e-mails and it's really annoying, when sending an e-mail, to have a drop down list of previous address. By that I mean, type in an 'A' and a list drops down of loads of addresses I have used beginning with 'A'.

I would like to delete some of the addresses as most are no longer relevant but I can't find a way to do this.

I realise I'm a numpty, so please go easy..:scratch:

Havana
09-12-2012, 12:11
Go to "Contacts" then "Manage" to edit the existing list of contacts.

hifi_dave
09-12-2012, 13:37
Thank you.

I have just tried that but the contacts list shows just the contacts but when I go to send a new e-mail, for instance, and type in a letter, a drop down list includes the contacts plus a lot more which are unwanted.

hifi_dave
11-12-2012, 17:19
Someone must know..:scratch:

Marco
11-12-2012, 17:41
Dave, if you don't get any joy here, drop a PM to Martin T. He's an IT expert, so should be able to help :)

Marco.

Dominic Harper
11-12-2012, 17:48
Dave go in to your contacts list. Hi light all the ones you want to delete. You need to hold the shift key otherwise you will end up doing each one separately. Once you have highlighted all the ones you DON'T want. Click delete and they should come off your contact list.

Cheers
Natalie
NWA

Dominic Harper
11-12-2012, 17:49
For got to mention to use the contact icon at the bottom right of your screen in hotmail.

Cheers Natalie

kenworthy100
11-12-2012, 17:51
Dave try this, right hand side of browser click on

OPTIONS you will get a drop down then click on MORE OPTIONS when you click that you will go to another screen with a subheading on the right CUSTOMISING HOTMAIL just below that will be ADVANCED PRIVACY SETTINGS click on that you will then see in the middle of the screen two settings as follows GIVE SUGGESTIONS FOR ANYONE i HAVE COMMUNICATED WITH and below ONLY SUGGEST PEOPLE IN MY CONTACT LIST click on the last one (ONLY SUGGEST PEOPLE IN MY CONTACT LIST) then at the bottom of the screen is a SAVE option click that. Then on the left of the screen you will see an option GO TO INBOX click on that and when you return to your inbox log out. Log back in and when you send a new mail you should only get suggestions of those in your contact book.