PDA

View Full Version : Tips for a vintage Thorens TD-160?

ppat2
07-12-2012, 15:25
I've just purchased a vintage Thorens TD-160. Mostly to tinker with and see if I can make a project of it and use it as my second turntable. Still waiting for the turntable to arrive from the seller.

I'm a huge music lover, have collected gear for 35 years and music even longer, and have a good sized vinyl collection. Current turntable is the new model Thorens TD-160 HD.

Looking for any advice here from the experts to some questions below, and any other tips/suggestions anyone cares to share. I am completely new to attempting this type of project. I've mounted tonearms and cartridges and set them up for first time use, but that's the extent of it.

I have also included a link to the ad on Canuck Audio Mart if anyone wants to look at the deck purchased. It is very nice condition, hoping it arrives the same way....

http://www.canuckaudiomart.com/details/649031771-thorens_td160

1. Suitable modern cartridge to purchase for this that would not be overkill? I am using NAD C275BEE amp, NAD C165BEE preamp, Proac Response D Two Speakers, and Clearaudio Basic Plus with Accu+ phonostage. I also have a Lehmann Black Cube Statement phonostage that is used with my second turntable, but the Clearaudio is all around much better.

2. Thoughts on rewiring the tonearm in the 160?

3. Same question but in relation to rewiring the RCA outputs so that I can use removable analog cables?

4. Can it be safely be used with my Clearaudio Basic Plus and Accu+ power supply phonostage, meaning no electrical mismatch expected in relation to ouput signal from the 160 and input into the Clearaudio phonostage?

5. Is there anything I need to be concerned about in terms of other electrical specs and power connections? I thought I read a post where it said to use some type of killswitch or power interrupt or such in the power chain when working on an old deck like this?