PDA

View Full Version : Goldring 1042 V's Ortofon 2M Blue

carruthersesq
25-11-2012, 23:21
Hi Guys

I'm fairly new to vinyl and was wondering if anyone has compared these two side by side? I have had a 2M Red but I wasn't not blown away by it, I read (on forum's) that the blue is so much better?!

I can't demo them and will buy one but can't decide which one.

They will be mounted on a Pro-ject RPM 6.1 turntable with 9CC arm, played through a Dynavector HX75 pre with MM boards and Dynavector L200 power amp.

Thanks for your thoughts

Steve

hifi_dave
26-11-2012, 10:09
Never been a fan of the 1042 myself, I find it a bit shut in and rounded off. The Ortofons are lighter, brighter, cleaner with the Blue being sweeter and more refined than the Red.

You can replace the stylus on your Red with a Blue, which would save you a little bit.

the engine
26-11-2012, 11:23
Goldy for rock . Especially drum wallop .
Orto for everything else......and it rocks ok to.....
BUT....RUN THE ORTO IN for 50 Lp's minimum . It does seem a bit tame till it's loosened up. Imo.

the engine
26-11-2012, 11:24
The blue is better than the red though. And better than the goldy with much more realism
and detail....imaging is nice and wide open to. But not from new !
I think Goldring have been left behind a little with the introduction of th 2M carts.
It must hurt with the Project deal as well.

Audioman
26-11-2012, 15:58
I think a lot of people will pfefer the 1042 to the Ortofon. Depends on taste and system. Goldring introduced the 2000 series ( made for them in Japan I think) to provide a brighter presentation. Might be worth a try.

DSJR
26-11-2012, 21:19
The 1042 can sound "one note" on all instruments, and full on in a thumpity thump kind of way if one isn't careful. It did sound good on a Rega though.