PDA

View Full Version : How to get the best out of Computer: A Easy guide to Computer Audio

John
31-10-2012, 21:48
A few days ago a friend reminded me that a lot of people still find using computer audio a complete mystery. So i decided to write this
I am not a computer expert but can make my way around a computer so I hope this helps
A computer can be a useful transport or even player in obtaining decent sounds, but for some it still remains a mystery, This is a simple guide in how to get up and running with a computer.
Most of what I am writing is based on a windows based systems but a lot of the principles remain the same no matter what system you using.
1) First of all you need a computer I would recommend a system with good memory 500gb would be suitable for a lot of people and good ram if you using JPLAY so you can use it in extreme version. I quite like using notebooks due to the quiet fan but most towers made are pretty quiet these days. So the choice is wide.
2) The next step is having a place to store music on your computer. You can use players like Itunes, Jriver and media monkey for this or you can just store them on a file. This players can be downloaded on the internet and some you will have to pay for.
3) Once we have a place to store music we then need to put some music on your computer. A) By downloading from a music site such as Itunes or HDTracks or Amazon, a lot of bands will now allow you to download from their site also B) By ripping a CD using something like perfect rip http://perfectrip.cdfreaks.com/ or EAC http://www.ehow.com/how_8351904_rip-wav-eac.html I use WAV as my choice of recording format but you could use FLAC, the main bit is not to use compression I personally choose not to use lossless it means less storage space on my computer.