PDA

View Full Version : SL1210mk2 for beginners

mwahahaha
24-02-2009, 22:10
Hi everyone,

I've been considering picking up an SL1210mk2 to get back into Vinyl a bit. I really like the idea of the ease of use of the Technics (Used to have an LP12 and did get a bit tired of the rituals involved in ownership)

Now I'm a complete newbie when it comes to doing anything setup wise with a TT. With the Linn there were no end of dealers who could help out but not so much with the Technics especially when i'd like to put a Denon DL110 cart on which I can only find online.

Basically I'd like to put a Sumiko headshell and DL110 on the standard Technics arm and then probably get some new feet and mat whenever. What would be involved in installing the DL110 and sumiko headshell to the Technics arm? I'm just trying to guage whether I'd be a bit out of my depth!

jonners
24-02-2009, 22:23
Hi, mwahahaha

I'm using that cart and headshell on the Technics myself. Setup is pretty easy. You can use the Technics alignment gauge for starters to get the cart in the right place in the headshell. Are you getting a new deck? It's all explained in the manual. Go for it!

John

muffinman
24-02-2009, 22:24
I'd say it all depends on how much you think you may end up spending in the long run.
The sumiko and denon are just straight replacements - no worries at all, and will bring great improvements.
The general opinion here though is that the fundamental massive improvement is a PSU change.
Trouble with that though is, as always, once you've done that - you'll want a better cart/headshell.

it never ends

Peter Stockwell
25-02-2009, 09:40
Muffinma,

You put the parallel tracker on your teccie ?

That looked so hard to do, I didn't even think about it.

mwahahaha
25-02-2009, 11:39
Hi, mwahahaha