PDA

View Full Version : Please help, I've wrecked my Beresford

James G
24-02-2009, 16:10
Hello everyone, my first post and all. Great forum, so many interesting things here.

I'm new to the audio mod stuff and I tried to mod21 (http://www.beresford.me/Downloads/Mod21.pdf) my Beresford and it didn't like it, so now I've got two of them. I'm terrified to try anything with the 2nd one at least until maybe I can figure out what went wrong with my first attempt.

What happened is right after I performed the solder bridge part I hooked it back up and tried it out. It started playing initially, then after about 20 seconds the left channel started crackling, then quit. I'm pretty sure I didn't burn anything up with the iron and I checked the connections with a ohm meter and they seem to be sound. But I don't really know where to start troubleshooting this.

If you guys have any ideas for me to try your suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

NRG
24-02-2009, 16:24
Can you take an in-focus close up shot of the inside and post it?

Did you get the 'lytic caps the correct way round?

leo
24-02-2009, 16:31
Hello everyone, my first post and all. Great forum, so many interesting things here.

I'm new to the audio mod stuff and I tried to mod21 (http://www.beresford.me/Downloads/Mod21.pdf) my Beresford and it didn't like it, so now I've got two of them. I'm terrified to try anything with the 2nd one at least until maybe I can figure out what went wrong with my first attempt.

What happened is right after I performed the solder bridge part I hooked it back up and tried it out. It started playing initially, then after about 20 seconds the left channel started crackling, then quit. I'm pretty sure I didn't burn anything up with the iron and I checked the connections with a ohm meter and they seem to be sound. But I don't really know where to start troubleshooting this.

If you guys have any ideas for me to try your suggestions would be greatly appreciated.