PDA

View Full Version : My First Reel To Reel - Any Suggestions?

Beechwoods
23-02-2009, 20:17
Reposted from a thread lost in the recent database restore...

Hopefully we'll be able to get this thread moving again!

I googled Beechwoods reel to reel and look where it's taken me
I'd love a Nagra but sadly my budget is never likely to run that far.
Can anyone help? I'm a complete newbie to reel to reel who would like a reasonably small player at a good price on ebay, which I could make some nice stereo recordings on and play back a few old reels recorded by my father-in-law off the radio in the early 1960s?
What names should I look out for and should I have a minimum requirement?
Any help would be really appreciated.
Neon

Hi Neon. It's good to have another reel to reel fan here :eyebrows:

My preference is for the Pioneer units (701, 707, 901, 909) though these tend to command reasonable prices on eBay. Akai players are well regarded (especially the ones with 'GX' Glass coated heads) - you may pick up a bargain GX model if you're canny. The Sony TC-377 often goes for under £100 and is a very decent entry-level deck, capable of very nice recordings, and good playback with the right tape - though I feel old tape is more of a challenge for mine, in terms of fidelity. The Sony is a big bulky mind you.
Lodgesound and Pulsestudio on here may have some other thoughts. Check out their Gallery postings for some ideas.

If you're up for it you may want to say hello in the 'Welcome' forum and say a little about your system and what music you like ;)

Thanks Beechwoods :smoking:

I have honed in on your sub £100 comment and started ebaying. It immediately brought up this

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Sony-3-Head-Reel-to-Reel-Tape-Recorder-Model-TC-377_W0QQitemZ160317363696QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Con sumer_VintageAudio_RL?hash=item160317363696&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1683%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C 240%3A1318