PDA

View Full Version : DIY Cable help please!

bernie1
14-10-2012, 08:40
Hi, I'd like to build an interconnect, it's my first attempt, I'd like to try silver, what's the best simple way, just straight conductors, or a Litz weave, if so, how do I go about shielding?

Bernie

YNWaN
14-10-2012, 09:14
The simple answer is that here is no 'best' way Bernie. For every manufacturer that strongly extols the virtue of one type of construction there is a host of others equally adamant about a completely different architecture. There isn't even any kind of agreement on whether shielding is a good thing (however, I would say it is).

Not much help (but true), sorry.

Edit: what I would say is that you should use good plugs - if you build an all silver cable (though personally I prefer copper), I would definitely use the Eichmann silver Bullet RCA's.

bernie1
14-10-2012, 09:24
Thanks,
It's pretty much what I thought, why do you prefer copper, does it give more bass weight than silver?
I take your point about the plugs though, I was going to use the eichmanns. or WBT

Bernie

YNWaN
14-10-2012, 09:30
The WBT's are a fine piece of kit - but I actually prefer the Eichmann's.

Well, I haven't compared every silver cable by a long stretch; but those that I have listened to have not really lit my fire, finding their (often) brightly lit upper mid (and slightly recessed low bass) a bit contrived. However, I can easily see how, in a different system, one may feel quite differently about this.

To be honest, I think terms like 'more bass' over simplify the differences between cables. My experience is that there is rarely outright 'more' of anything, in terms of quantity, between cables; it is more often more a case of perspective, as if the focus of the sound has shifted from one aspect to another.

MCRU
14-10-2012, 09:38
For DIY the eichmann's are far easier to solder and sound just as good or better than WBT IMO too.

YNWaN
14-10-2012, 09:40