PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from Essex

foxysounds
11-02-2009, 11:29
Hi everyone, allow me to introduce myself ...

My name is Simon, I'm 36 and I'm from Essex. I was bitten by the hi-fi bug sometime in my teens. I'm not sure what caused it but I've always loved music (I'm a musician of sorts) and I guess it just made sense to want to make it sound as good as possible. Between then and about the age of 30 my hi-fi was regularly upgraded whenever I could scrape together enough money to do so but since then it's been fairly static (mainly because I have an even more expensive hobby now!). My current hi-fi is modest by comparison with many here but I enjoy the sound it makes which I guess is all that matters.

My current set up is: Marantz PM6010OSE amp and Marantz CD6000OSE CD player on an Atacama Equinox stand, bi-wired JPW AP2 loudspeakers on sand-filled Atacama SE24 stands and a Dual CS505 mk III turntable with an Audio Technica AT110E cartridge on a Sound Organisation shelf. There is also a tape deck connected but I'm struggling to remember the last time I used it :) I can't remember what the interconnects or speaker cables are.

The turntable is obviously the weak link in my system but I so rarely listen to vinyl these days that it would be hard to justify an upgrade - not because I have any particular aversion to vinyl but simply because my musical tastes have evolved over the years and so the albums I have on vinyl are now ones I rarely feel the urge to listen to. I have a wide range of musical styles in my CD collection but these days I mainly listen to progressive rock and progressive metal.

I found this forum while searching for an answer to a particular problem I have so I'll be open and honest and admit that my main motive for joining here is to ask a question but having read quite a few threads here now it seems like the sort of place I might like to hang about so I'm also looking forward to joining in the discussions here :)

Regards,

Simon.