PDA

View Full Version : Hello from a young designer

ben-blackwood-designs
24-09-2012, 17:24
My name is Ben and I am an 18-year-old designer and craftsman who is about to launch my own hifi related business. I work in solid oak and have made a range of prototype hifi racks. Initially I will be making units for half-sized hifi such as Cyrus and Bel Canto. I realise that this will limit my market but I have to walk before I can run. Eventually I will be making units for all types of systems and will be making one off units on a commission basis.
My main product is a stacking rack that has a contemporary look and works really well. I have also made prototypes of wall mounted CD racks, free standing CD storage and Im working on a wall-mounted turntable platform at the moment.
I only use the very best grade of oak and my products are constructed to the highest standards.
My hifi knowledge is not that good so I rely on my dad who has been interested in music and stereo systems for about 40 years. I am keen to learn more which is why I have joined the forum
I am interested in any pointers that could help me launch my business. My web site is under construction at the moment. I'd like to post a link when its live. Until then I'll post some pictures of my prototype designs and some of my launch products. Please let me know what you think.

Many thanks,

Ben Blackwood

Audio Al
24-09-2012, 17:28
Hello Ben

Welcome to the forum

I wish you success with your project and look forward to seeing the photos of your work

:)

julesd68
24-09-2012, 17:37
Welcome Ben,

Look forward to seeing the stacking rack!

Good luck with it all.

oscarsaudio
24-09-2012, 17:55
welcome , look forward to seeing some of your work

ben-blackwood-designs
24-09-2012, 17:57
Hi ,

thanks for the warm welcome.

julian, heres some images of the stacking rack

http://i696.photobucket.com/albums/vv327/jamie501/stacker5cd_zpsd52db8f0.jpg