PDA

View Full Version : A Dalek visits A falcoron

Spectral Morn
09-09-2012, 20:01
After my comment on falcoron's - Ron - open baffle speakers in this thread (http://theartofsound.net/forum/showthread.php?t=20146) and a short exchange of pms I accepted Ron's warm offer of a visit to hear his system and the speakers in question - which are based on Vic of Transfi's Bastani speaker designs (1)

http://i549.photobucket.com/albums/ii364/davros124/004-5.jpg

After a drive along the north shore of Belfast lough towards Larne I found myself with little trouble - thanks to Google Maps - at Ron's house. I had met Ron many years ago when I worked in the HiFi retail trade but in all honesty I could not have put a face to his name.

http://i549.photobucket.com/albums/ii364/davros124/005-3.jpg

After a very warm welcome and a chat about various interests hifi, music and other we got down to some listening initially with Ron's computer based source and then with a Micromega Data CD transport I had brought with me - which fed a signal into Ron's Stan Beresford DAC via XLO reference digital cable. The Micromega sat on a SSC isolation platform on top of a chair - not ideal but as Ron's rack is bunged needs must. Power was supplied via a TCI mains cable and a Mark Grant mains extension strip.

http://i549.photobucket.com/albums/ii364/davros124/007-3.jpg

http://i549.photobucket.com/albums/ii364/davros124/010-2.jpg

Before hooking all of that up though I listened to Hugh Masekela's Stimela which I know intimately well and after a little tweaking of the volume of the Berhinger DEQ2469 the slightly excessive bass which was bleeding into the lower mid and booming in the room was brought into line but in doing this a midrange suck out was made more obvious.