PDA

View Full Version : Evening

symon
02-02-2009, 23:44
Well, it's been snowing and it's time for me to say hello.

I'm Peter and I've just joined - drawn by a link from Google to some pictures of an AKAI 4000d. Then I saw Beechwoods stuff, and the fact that he collects live tapes (mmm - low gen Floyd!), and that he's in Bristol, like me, and that was just too many reasons to make joining a must!

I'm new to hi-fi. But, I have a quad power amp and pre-amp sitting in a corner waiting to be put to good use. I haven't properly connected them up yet because I can't connect my record player to it. It's a NAD but has RCA connectors built in. So, maybe a new record player for me soon, even if it's a cheap one.

Other than the NAD, I have an old CD player (another upgrade required down the line), two DAT decks, a minidisc deck, tuner, a Denon amp and some bi-wired Acoustic Energy speakers.

I would like to get a really nice system going - and the Quads seem to be a good start. I don't know much about cables and speakers and the reasons why they are important (ie, why do speakers need stands?) I'm fairly sure I am going to learn most of that here after I've done some more reading.

Anyway, hello from me. Back to lurk mode.

Beechwoods
02-02-2009, 23:50
Hi there Peter! It seems my cover's been blown :) An interest in Floyd, reel to reel and an owner of two DAT decks... glad you decided to join us. If you're thinking of a record player you could do worse than what I did - a cheap Lenco L75 and knock together a home-made high-mass plinth... very impressive sound even with the stock arm, if you get a half-decent cartridge. And they have the capability get stellar levels of performance with a replacement arm.

Welcome to AOS!

symon
02-02-2009, 23:53