PDA

View Full Version : MacBook

johnB
13-08-2012, 23:03
Hi, I'm not a digital expert but would like to play my MacBook through my hi-fi amp (iTunes etc) it's currently connected via CA740c (which supposely "upsamples") to my amp . It sounds ok, but would the Beresford make a marked difference? Any advice gladly received.
Cheers
John

Alex_UK
14-08-2012, 09:18
Never heard the 740c let alone on its digital inputs, so I can't really comment - but which Beresford are you thinking of - the new Bushmaster?

theriskdude
14-08-2012, 10:23
Hi Jon - I also use a Macbook (Pro) as my most used front end. I can't comment on a comparison with the 740c, but I can definitely recommend using the Bushmaster. I use the optical output into the dac and it is excellent. I would recommend that you use an alternative to iTunes though. I use Audivarna Plus which integrates with the Tunes library and (IMO) is a significant improvement - it also fixes the iTunes digital volume to 100% so you need to control volume elsewhere.

Mike

sq225917
14-08-2012, 10:28
If you are using the optical out from the MAC then it's not the best connection to the 740c and a Hiface (usb to spdif converter) will give you a straight up improvement, and it will give you 192khz capability as well.

I used one between my Macbook and my 840c until i upgraded to a Weiss 202.

johnB
14-08-2012, 10:48
Thanks so far.

Alex, yes I'm looking at the Bushmaster.

Mike, thanks for advice on Audiovarna plus.

Simon, the Hiface USB to s/PDF looks a bit wide. The two USB ports on my MacBook are adjacent and I need one to feed in the external drive, which means I struggle fitting anything wider than a conventional USB into the second slot.....do you have this problem or a solution?

Cheers all
John

StanleyB
14-08-2012, 11:35
Is there no optical output on the Macbook?

Beechwoods
14-08-2012, 12:31
There is. The headphone output also acts as an Optical if you plug a mini Optical cable into it.

StanleyB
14-08-2012, 12:39