PDA

View Full Version : USB vs SB streaming, or similar streaming, to DAC

ReachtheSky
29-01-2009, 23:31
Hi Guys

I'm new to AoS.

There are obvious cost differences and practical/convenience differences, but are there any significant audio sonic benefits of one over the other?

Forgive my ignorance, as this subject has probably been thrashed out before here or elsewhere. I would appreciate your views or leads to related forum links. Thanks.

theone999
29-01-2009, 23:35
what's SB streaming?

ReachtheSky
29-01-2009, 23:45
SB streaming: Squeezbox (or similar) sending/streaming Wi-Fi media across your home network from computer/HD to your music equipment.

Ali Tait
30-01-2009, 09:36
Don't have one myself,but many have commented that hard-wire sounds better than wireless.

Tony Moore
30-01-2009, 10:47
I would think that perhaps your question has been asked before but of course technology changes rapidly and what might be the "perceived wisdom" a few months ago could well have been superseded by more recent products and software.

I can only relate what I've found with my limited experience. I use SqueezeBox (SB3 & SBR/Duet) streamed from a Suse 11 Linux AMD box. I've taken liberties with the SBR and installed it into my custom DAC. (The larger box in the photo above)

As far as the pros and cons I would say:

SB/Music Server route:

Pros:

- Can service multiple SB3/SBR/Transporter/SoftSqueeze units
- Does not require a dedicated "personal" PC, just a lightweight server or some sort. No need for keyboard/mouse/monitor, etc.
- The playback device is a purpose built and low power/low interference unit.
- The Duet controller is very nice!
- Can control (ie quickly mute) the music from controller or any PC on the network.

Cons.

- you need to set up and maintain a server
- you need to rip music first and rescan before you are able to listen.
- Software can be a little intimidating for people used to say WinAmp.