PDA

View Full Version : MC SUT from Haufe transformers

vencel
09-06-2012, 12:55
Hello,

I would like to ask something since I am not an expert. I hope someone will be able to help me.
I am putting together my SUT based on Haufe transformers. I know the following:

red and green: primary winding
blue and white: secondary winding

(the red and the green wires are in phase)

black: transformer core
black/yellow: transformer housing

The black and black/yellow wires should both be connected to ground (at the preamplifier).

What I don't know is that where should I put the 12Kohm resistor to align the impedance of the Denon DL-103R?
I've read that the secondary winding (blue and white wires) should be loaded with the 12Kohm resistor but I don't know what does this loading mean in practicality?
Where should I connect one end of the resistor and where the other end?
Another question if I should connect the negative of each RCA connector to 1 common point?

Could you please help me with this?

I would really appreciate any help or a photo of a similar desing.

Thanks and regards,
László

NRG
09-06-2012, 14:12
Does this help?

http://www.kandkaudio.com/mccartsetup.html

Place the loading R in parallel with the secondary winding. Your 12K will reflect 120R to the cart with a 1:10 step-up: 12000 / (10 x 10)

A 1:20 would reflect 30R....so find the ratio and wire in parallel...but also check if you already have some form of loading IE: if the SUT is to front a MM stage then you need to account for the 47K that its likely to have as standard.

Edit: a 15K on the secondary in parallel with a MM 47K load will reflect 113R to the cart with a 1:10 SUT

Barry
09-06-2012, 17:29
Hello,

I would like to ask something since I am not an expert. I hope someone will be able to help me.
I am putting together my SUT based on Haufe transformers. I know the following:

red and green: primary winding
blue and white: secondary winding

(the red and the green wires are in phase)