PDA

View Full Version : Sling Media Slingbox - A/V over internet.

Martinh
07-06-2012, 14:01
Sometimes a product comes along that works and is genuinely useful. Here's one that stands out IMHO.

Slingbox allows you to watch YOUR tv anywhere in the world. It sends A/V from your home system across the internet.

It's a product that I've been using with great success for the last 3 or 4 years, mainly when travelling to my in-laws in France, but also at work, in the bath etc.

The best thing is that the setup cost is next to nothing ( I bought my slingbox for £50 online). There are no subscription fees, you just need an internet connection at both ends.

The slingbox base unit connects to your home internet network and then plugs into your TV set top box or other source. It has a infrared eye that's used to control your STB (change channels, control the hard drive etc.)

Here's the slingbox base unit:

http://www.chelsea-bathrooms.co.uk/slingbox_pro_hd.jpg

My version has 3 inputs for STB (virgin V+), DVB (digital arial on roof), and and extra s-video input (could be used for a security camera?) You can also connect to CD, DVD, PCs etc, as you wish.

The Slingbox encodes the signal and transmits it on demand via the internet.

You can watch via many devices including PCs, laptops, tablets, smartphones etc

Here's a screenshot of me watching BBC news on my laptop:

http://www.chelsea-bathrooms.co.uk/screenshot.jpg

Note that the remote control shown on the right is exactly the same as my virgin remote at home :)

The picture quality depends upon the speed of your internet connection (mainly the upstream connection at home) but even with a 700 kb/s upstream link it's not bad. I have 1500 k upstream and it's good.

Another unexpected benefit has been the ability to log on remotely, when I've forgotten to set the Virgin box to record something :doh: