PDA

View Full Version : Hey peeps...Midlander seeks help

soultrader
03-06-2012, 12:04
Hi People

Happy to be part of this forum, definitely one of the better ones on the web.

My story, well... I'm currently in a predicament and I'm hoping someone on here can help.

I recently bought a set of Paradigm studio 20 version 5 speakers. I bought them because they were half price and I had made a neat profit selling car bits. It's my first time owning decent hi-fi so I can't say much in terms of the sound other than it works. Prior to this I had been looking for speakers for sometime and gained a 'feel' as to what to expect in terms of price and so I felt they were a bargain, especially considering people will pay up to 75% for some of bowers and wilkins lower end gear; stuff for which I originally budgeted.

Naturally, buying these paradigms was going out on a limb and what I didn't anticipate or budget for was the amplification requirements. I now have a beautiful set of speakers being driven by a pathetic 45 watt amplifier and I can just feel the deficiency robbing me of any decent listening pleasure. The amplifier to be more specific is a literally lightweight Sony TA FE-370.

I'm now stuck between whether to sell the speakers or find a decent enough low budget 'good' amp. I was hoping to hold onto them for a bit and have been researching the amp market. I can't afford tubes but know I appreciate 'warm' sound as this happens to the sound coming out of the speakers after the amp has warmed up. I don't want to spend much as I've already blown my budget on speakers. 200 the absolute max. Preferably around the 100 mark for something like a pioneer a676 would be nice. I noticed I missed out on this already from a certain bear on these forums. Ebay has all but dried up, I wasn't sure when they were available whether it was the amp for me. I've looked into some of technics stuff but there's a lot of them and I don't know what to make of them.