PDA

View Full Version : spendor ls3/5a - SPEAKERS

Wakefield Turntables
25-03-2012, 21:04
I'm thinking about getting rid of the Celestion ditton 15xr's and was considering some spendor ls3/5a. They'll be playing mainly vocal, jazz, accoustic music. They'll be sitting in my valve setup. So I was just wondering if anyone heard them and what they thought about them. Looking to hear your replies

Andy

ImpMan71
02-04-2012, 03:57
I have a set of Audiomaster ls3/5a's that I have set up on my Lecson AC1/AP1.
I listen to a lot of Jazz & all types of music & enjoy them - you can listen for hours & they are not tiring.
Some people say the treble can be a bit harsh, but I haven't experienced this with mine, It may be when you start turning them up loud - they don't go that loud & don't work so well in large rooms.
There is a good forum off the www.ls35a.com web site, you would probably be worth asking on there too, as there is likely to be someone with the same / similar amp.
They are meant to sing on valves - one day, when my six numbers come up :)
I'd definately recommend listening to some first, especially the silly money they go for these days.
Cheers,
Colin

hifi_dave
02-04-2012, 11:28
They are good but soooo expensive nowadays.

The LS3/5A has it's foibles such as low SPL and limited bass and is easily bettered now with speakers like the excellent Harbeth P3ESR, which is often a lot cheaper than the older model.

sweeter
02-04-2012, 11:51
GO FOR IT! I have 4 pairs and love em. As said before you can listen to them for hours on end without getting fatigued. They truly grow on you. They are NOT immediately impressive but seduce you over time. They just keep getting better the better quality 'ancilliaries' you throw at em!
I own 30 odd pairs of speakers which I constantly rotate/ trade/ swap but LS3/5a's remain!
Great for everything except heavy rock/ dance etc. Struggler with complex orchestral music too.

Marco
02-04-2012, 12:01
Hi Mark,

Welcome to AoS :)