PDA

View Full Version : Objectivists

Audioflair
21-02-2012, 21:24
The beauty of this hobby is that it is subjective. A complete novice is able to judge for himself whether a piece of equipment using the`latest technology` is musically involving or not. I think the `objectivists` should consider the concept of `negative coloration.`
The fact that many synthetic materials strip the sound of natural tonal colour and body seems to be being confused with accuracy, neutrality and transparency IMO. As if the more `bare to the bones` a sound is the more accurate it must be...

jandl100
22-02-2012, 07:36
Well, I'm mostly subjective, but I know of quite a few objectivists who enjoy themselves hugely, so there's room for all sorts in this hobby, I reckon. :)

Audioflair
22-02-2012, 08:37
I agree there is a need for both. It`s just that sometimes looking through various postings the objectivist argument - supposedly based on hard fact - can seemingly bludgeon the more emotional subjectivist argument. Yet the subjectivist approach is more relevant to what music is about IMO.
`When you know what you`re measuring...measure it.`

nat8808
24-02-2012, 03:08
Is anyone really either though? I don't think so myself.

You have to make objective decisions at some stage else you'll be plugging in bits of bread because you shouldn't rule things out until you've actually listened to them!

Equally, if something sounds terrible to the objectivist, then they won't listen to it.

It's all grey (which is incidentally a great Cure track) and I bet most people lay within a very narrow distribution in the middle somewhere.

What creates the divide between the two 'camps' is mostly semantics and which club they perceive matches their character or ego best.