PDA

View Full Version : I will have you at hello.

trev76
31-01-2012, 19:50
Hello everyone (see?),

Ok so I'm doing the introduction thing, which you can already tell, I'm not that good at, but I'll give it a shot.

I've been a member of this site for a while, more of a lurker than a poster. I'm fascinated in all things audio related, especially vinyl - not that I find it 'better' than digital or anything (though some records are). I guess with vinyl its more of a ritual, and theres something very odd and wonderful about holding a round disc with sound waves in some form of suspended animation, if that makes any sense.

I'm currently recording an EP of some sort and theres an album thats coming out in June - its all low key stuff but I've done not much else really; Apart from creating music, my only other interest is in other things audio related - too many to mention, but if you have the book Recording The Beatles and treat it as some kind of esoteric text, you get the idea :)

In regards to what music I like, thats a really tough question. Genre-wise, I have no clue. Theres a ton of stuff really, and it depends on the day. Oh actually, I don't quite like country. I don't know why. If I absolutely had to pick one band/artist, no doubt that would be David Bowie. Lately I've been into a 'band' (more of a project?) called Bon Iver. I bought the record not knowing anything about it other than the fact that I liked the cover art. Never did that before - ended up listening to the latest album in its entirety, then feeling really depressed cos I didn't come up with it :)

My set up is a bit weird I guess. Stock (soon to be modded) SL1210MK5 with an Audio-Technica cart, Cambridge Audio 640p phono pre... that goes into a Black Lion modified MOTU audio interface, connected via its PCI card in a Mac Pro with 32GB RAM, 4x 1TB hard drives, running Logic and a bunch of stuff. Theres an assortment of synths and guitars / pedals but thats for another type of forum Im guessing?