PDA

View Full Version : Epiphany acoustics portable headphone amp

wee tee cee
10-01-2012, 22:20
Does anyone have any personal experience with the EHP-O2. Having sampled a couple of FIIO offerings I'm looking for something a little less sonically compromised but without breaking the bank. The graham slee stuff is just a bit too expensive for me.
I'm using a wee cowon player but just need to give it a helping hand.
Tony.

wee tee cee
13-01-2012, 00:42
I will take that as a no...they do make some mighty claims in they're blurb.

Pete The Cat
22-01-2012, 16:45
This isn't a direct answer I'm afraid.

I'm not an expert but given your comment about budget I thought I'd mention that there seems to be a vibrant market in reasonably priced DIY headphone amps. On the simple logic that they can use higher quality components than commercially manufactured amps they may be worth a look. Some receive very strong support from the Head-Fi community and can be rated as highly as branded models costing more, and you could buy a second hand one already assembled if you're not comfortable with doing the surgery yourself. I've just tried a WNA amp and it's absolutely wiping the floor with my trusty Creek.

Just a thought...

Pete

Ali Tait
22-01-2012, 16:53
How much are you looking at spending Tony?

DaveK
22-01-2012, 17:14
weeteecee,
Take a look at the HA10 amp offered by custom.hifi.cables.co.uk. They are about to go into production and I know 2 members here (one being me ;) ) and one professional musician on another forum, who have auditioned the prototypes and been impressed with them enough for 2 of the 3 to buy the prototypes. They may not be in production for a month or so but get your name high on the list :) .
Other than as a very satisfied customer I have no connection with the seller.
Dave.

wee tee cee
22-01-2012, 17:51
The budget was roundabout the fiio mark with a wee bit extra to try and get something that sounded half decent.