PDA

View Full Version : Loving my new Thorens TD-165!

michaelhigh
16-11-2011, 16:11
It was worth the wait, I feel as if I've reached a pinnacle of sorts. I've been collecting turntables seriously for a couple years now, starting with a Dual 1225 I bought at a thrift for $12, and after a $27 AT cart I was spinning. I'm at a totally different level now, and I'm not even TOTL with the 165. I've been spinning vinyl, comparing to flac all morning, and I must say that vinyl has the depth and inner detail that flac lacks. Flac-2 dimentional in SQ, vinyl-3D SQ, and I'm burning countless tens of calories everytime I change sides. I'll be the Thin Man in the corner Casting No Shadow. :lol:

Ducatiist
17-11-2011, 11:14
I have a 165 with original arm and an A&R E77 cartridge, which sounds wonderful. For such a low value turntable, with a little bit of tweaking, you can really have a super turntable, for not much money. Its great to see someone really enjoying vinyl.......well done that man!!!

jazzpiano
17-11-2011, 19:48
Stuart,

Can you comment on tweaks you've done to the 165?

Best,
Barry :)

Ducatiist
17-11-2011, 22:57
Not too many tweaks really, I've just optimised thing really. I put a much more substantial base board on it, which seems to tighten everything up. Then sat this on RDC cones and cups, which further cleans the sound, reducing background noise. I then renewed the oil in the bearing, put a new belt on and it really does start to sing.

I've got a Linn Valhalla power supply I'm thinking of trying too.

The original RCA plugs were really filthy, so I polished them and put deoxit on them. I also did the same with the cartridge pins and plugs. This also seemed to bring more information out from my records.

I ensured the bounce was right and everything was set up correctly.

My 165 had come from a chap who must've smoked 40 cigs a day, it had a lot of nicotine staining, which seemed to have got everywhere.